Introduction > Who is Michael?

Who Is Michael?


The Michael entity is a collective of 1050 souls who have completed their incarnations on earth, and evolved to a higher plane of existence. As with many other spiritual teachers, Michael's knowledge is conveyed to the earth plane through the use of a human channel. These channeled teachings were first published in a book by Chelsea Quinn Yarbro, entitled, "Messages from Michael," and it paved the way for many publications to come. 

A fundamental aspect of Michael's wisdom is that the meaning of existence is in a nutshell -- life.  There is nothing else. The experiences we gather from living day after day, lifetime after lifetime, constitute the essential components necessary to grow spiritually.  There are no secret rituals, special meditations, or any other esoteric practices required. Life itself is the only lesson plan needed in order to move forward. From this continual dance, we eventual learn the following tenet: we are here to learn how to choose, and to choose how to learn. 

Unlike familiar information provided by Seth, or Lazaris, which largely focus on the principles of conscious creation, the Michael teachings bring a unique perspective to our physical plane explorations.  Michael provides a revealing set of tools that help chart our spiritual progress as we journey from first incarnation to last.  Diligent application of this system teaches us to validate our overall development in the reincarnational cycle, show where we are on the path, what lessons we will encounter, why we are here, and what is yet to come.  It also helps us understand the unique qualities we bring to the world, and why people and societies are the way they are.  

Because these teachings are not based upon dogmatic principles, or a requirement to adopt rigid belief systems, the merits of the material can be self-validated, and that which doesn't resonate summarily tossed aside. 

The core of the teachings involves learning to develop self-acceptance and tolerance for others, and this is fostered through the use of a set of tools which Michael calls, Overleaves. The Overleaves describe the various attributes of our personality, showing us how we perceive and interact with, our world. By learning about these personality traits, we can better understand the inherent behavior patterns of ourselves, and the people around us.   

It is important to understand that it is not the intention of the Michael teachings to compartmentalize, pass judgement, or in the words of the occasional detractor, "place people in boxes."  The teachings simply reveal the unconscious tendencies, or default settings that help color each personality with a unique stamp.  


According to the Michael Teachings, before each of us begins our incarnational sojourn on the planet, we choose one of seven Roles which will serve as the blueprint of who we are, and how we interact with others.

These Roles reside in the following categories:

Priests and Servers are roles that dedicate themselves to the service and spiritual evolution of the soul, and to the physical needs of the people on the planet.

Sages and Artisans are devoted to expression; the artisan through creation, and the sage via communication.

Warriors and Kings are the great mobilizers in society, and they express their nature by "taking action."

Scholars are the assimilators of knowledge. They are profoundly curious and they document all experience.


Although our role remains the same during an entire cycle of incarnations, in order to gather a variety of experiences we choose a set of personality attributes (called "overleaves") for each new lifetime. These attributes fall into the categories of Goal (the significant issues that motivate us), Mode (our means of expression), Attitude (our life perspective), and Center (how we react).

Soul Age

Finally, as we continue through our thread of lifetimes, copiously gathering experiences, learning lessons, and fulfilling agreements, an evolutionary process transpires and this course of development is called Soul Age. There are five soul ages that we progress through during our cycle on the physical plane. Infant souls deal with issues of survival; Baby souls have a need for structure and tend to live according to beliefs based on dogma, such as religion; Young souls are success oriented and set personal achievement at all costs; Mature souls are relationship fixated and tend to gravitate towards emotional drama, and Old souls try to seek the larger perspective of life, and have less interest in playing the material game.

The final goal in the teachings is to learn unconditional love for all of humanity.



Dave Gregg is a longtime Michael student and the webmaster of  During the day he works on a gazillion projects online, and at night you'll find him at a local jazz club playing the saxophone.  


Try Our --> Spiritual Resource Guide

Learn about spiritually-minded products and services that could change your life and assist you on your spiritual path.

Click below to begin your journey.


The New Age Store


Main Categories: Home | Site Map | Welcome | Introduction | Michael FAQ | Michael Q & A | Soul Age | Infant Soul | Baby Soul | Young Soul | Mature Soul | Old Soul | Seven Roles | Role Photos | Overleaves | Stages of Life (Monads) | Advanced Topics | Nine Needs | Life After Death | Spirituality | Energy Healing | Karma | Michael Channeling | Related Articles | Channels & Resources | Study Center | Michael Books | Michael Chat | Michael Student Database  | Spiritweb List Archives | Transcripts | Personality Profile | Celebrities | Spiritual Sites |Spiritual Books | Glossary | Michael Teachings Forum | About Dave

Popular Pages: Server Role | Priest Role | Artisan Role | Sage Role | Warrior Role | King Role | Scholar Role | Reevaluation | Seven Goals | Growth | Discrimination | Acceptance | Submission | Dominance | Flow | Seven Modes | Reserve | Passion | Caution | Power | Perseverance | Aggression | Observation Seven Attitudes | Stoic | Spiritualist | Skeptic | Idealist | Cynic | Realist | Pragmatist | The Centers | Intellectual Center | Emotional Center | Moving Center Self-Deprecation | Arrogance | Self-Destruction | Greed | Martyrdom | Impatience | Stubbornness | Spiritual Awakening | Reincarnation | Is There Life After Death | Spiritual Health | Dealing With Anger | Toxic People | Spirit Guides | What is Channeling | How to Channel | Reiki Training | Life Purpose |